Builders Energy Rater Logo
Energy Star Certification
HomeBuilders Energy RaterBuilderReal Estate AgentHomebuyerTechnical ResourcesTexas Land VeteransEnergy Star RequirementsPartner LinksPricingLEED for HomesContact UsTermsPrivacy Policy
ENERGY STAR® Homes - In October of 1995, the ENERGY STAR new homes program was unveiled by the Environmental Protection Agency, requiring homes to be 30% more efficient in heating, cooling and water heating than the 1993 Model Energy Code.
  • As of January 2006, over 350,000 homes nationwide have been certified ENERGY STAR and market awareness is over 60%.
  • Effective July 1, 2006, the new HERS standards become mandatory and the homes must be either 15% better than the 2006 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) in southern climates or 20% better than the 2006 IECC in northern climates and lights and appliances are now included in the energy analysis.
  • This represents an integration of the IECC with the HERS system, unifying standards and verification processes.
  • The West Coast (California, Oregon and Washington) has a regional definition of ENERGY STAR® qualification.

Energy Efficient Mortgages (EEM’s) - These mortgages take into account the projected utility savings from the energy efficiency of the home.

Energy Improvement Mortgages (EIM’s) - These mortgages are designed for improving existing homes to a level at least equal to the 2000 IECC.

Texas Land Veterans Program- Requires ENERGY STAR certification.
Builders Energy Rater
Texas land Veterans Mortgage Program
Builders Energy Rater is nationally certified by the Residential Energy Services Network (RESNET).
Residential Energy Services Network (RESNET)
Why Should You Build Why Should You Buy